McCarthy, Kevin

Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) has served in the U.S. House of Representatives since 2007, representing California’s 23rd Congressional District. In 2022, he ran for reelection—in the 20th district—with Trump’s endorsement and not only won, but went on to become speaker of the House in 2023, albeit after endless negotiations and 15 votes.


Trump, Donald J.

Donald Trump is a businessman who served one term as president of the U.S., holding office from Jan. 20, 2017–Jan. 20, 2021. He was the first president in U.S. history with no prior experience in government or the military, and by the end of his term in office, he also became the first president to be impeached twice.